

## Report on the IFSW Africa Vice President Election

## **Background and Roadmap**

Following the election of Oluwatoni Adeleke as President of IFSW Africa during the General Meeting on 1-2 April 2024, the position of IFSW Africa Vice President became vacant. The person elected serves for a two-year period and is eligible to stand again in 2026 for a 4 year term. Key dates for this election were:

- Friday, 26 April 2024: Call for nomination opened
- Friday, 7 June 2024: Call for nomination closed
- Monday, 24 June 2024: Voting opened
- Wednesday, 24 July 2024: Voting closed
- Friday, 26 July 2024: Announcement of the outcome of the elections

## **Evaluation of nominations**

Nomination papers were scrutinised by the Nominations Committee. The Nominations Committee is established under the constitution (Article 10 and By-Law 7) to oversee the election process, to ensure that all nominations have the correct documentation and to satisfy the constitutional requirements. For more information, please see the report of the Nominations Committee to the 2024 General Meeting.

The members for the 2024 General Meeting are David N Jones (Elections Officer), Anstance Fometu (Africa), Amran Jamil (Asia Pacific), Nicolai Paulsen (Europe), Esther De Souza Lemos (Latin America and Caribbean), Gary Bailey (North America). All members agreed to extend their term of office to facilitate the election for the position of IFSW Africa Region Vice President.

A total of two nominations have been received. There were no major issues requiring the exercise of judgement by the Committee for this voting process. Issues arising from individual nominations were resolved by communication with nominees. The member organisations making nominations must be in good standing.

## Outcome of the elections

For the position of IFSW Africa Vice President

Name	Member	Votes	Result
Ssekate John Mary	Uganda	4	
Abib Ndiaye	Senegal	6	ELECTED

David Jones
Elections Officer

26 July 2024